Vaccination and Masking Protocols for Cultural District Events

Reggie Watkins Quartet Featuring Orrin Evans

Reggie Watkins Quartet Featuring Orrin Evans

Skip to get tickets
Reggie Watkins Quartet Featuring Orrin Evans

Reggie Watkins Quartet Featuring Orrin Evans

Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 5:00pm
  • Pittsburgh Cultural Trust and BNY Mellon Presents JazzLive
  • Allegheny Overlook
  • Ticket Prices

Trombonist, pianist, arranger and composer Reggie Watkins has released three recordings as leader. From 1999 to 2006 he served as trombonist and musical director for trumpeter and band leader Maynard Ferguson and from 2008 to 2013 with singer-songwriter Jason Mraz. Now in addition to leading his own trio, quartet and the Steeltown Horns, he is a member of Orrin Evans' Captain Black Big Band, The Pittsburgh Jazz Orchestra, Postmodern Jukebox, and a founding member of The Keystone Jazz Collective.

"Reggie Watkins manages to improvise with an originality and creativity avoiding clichés and predictable phrases in an entirely distinctive trombone style." – Hot House Magazine

Grammy nominated pianist Orrin Evans has been recognized as one of the most distinctive and inventive pianists of his generation. In a short span of time Orrin has earned the titles of pianist, composer, bandleader, teacher, producer and arranger. He has released twenty-seven albums as a leader and is on many others with artists such as Ralph Peterson Jr., Ravi Coltrane and Jeff "Tain" Watts. In 2010 he was awarded the Pew Fellowship for the Arts. In 2017, Evans was named the new pianist in The Bad Plus. In 2021 his large ensemble, The Captain Black Big Band, received it's second Grammy nomination for "The Intangible Between", on Imani Records.

".. Evans is a viable candidate for jazz’s most resourceful and invigorating contemporary pianist." - The New York Times

The line-up for their JazzLive performance includes Reggie Watkins - trombone, Orrin Evans - piano, Tony DePaolis - bass, and James Johnson III - drums.

The band for this performance will include:

Orrin Evans - Piano
Tony DePaolis - bass
James Johnson III - drums
Reggie Watkins - trombone

Learn More about BNY Mellon Present JazzLive

Sponsored by